26 August 2016

Bayer Indonesia Received The Sustainable Business Award Indonesia 2016

Bayer Indonesia has been named as one of the receiver of The Sustainable Business Award Indonesia 2016 (SBA ID 2016), in the awarding ceremony held on August 25, 2016, in Jakarta.

Bayer Indonesia was selected for the special recognition of Workforce, one of eleven special recognitions for fourteen categories: Strategy and Sustainability Management; Workforce; Community; Energy Management; Water Management; Waste & material Productivity; Climate Change; Supply Chain Management; Land Use, Biodiversity and Environment; Business Responsibility and Ethics; Stakeholder Engagement and Materiality; Best Flagship Initiatives; Small Medium Enterprises; and Best New Comer. President Director of PT Bayer Indonesia, Ashraf Al-Ouf, received the prestigious recognition from the Minister of National Development Planning of Indonesia (Bappenas), Bambang Brodjonegoro and witnessed by the Coordinating Minister of People and Cultural Development, Puan Maharani and the Minister of Industry, Airlangga Hartarto, along with other distinguished guests representing various industries and the public sector.


In his message to all Bayer’s employees, Ashraf said that receiving the recognition is a great honor for Bayer as it is an acknowledgement for the company’s ongoing effort to continue to improve and develop employee engagement as well as for increasing the value of diversity in the company. This recognition is a testimony of the results of all employees’ hard work in making Bayer Indonesia a great place to work and to develop themselves together with company’s business. This recognition is a true realization of the company values that have been embraced and put into action every day.


The awards were given to business leaders in Indonesia towards Climate Agreement – Paris to limit global warming. SBA was held in partnership of Indonesia Business Council for Sustainable Development (IBCSD), Global Initiatives and PricewaterhouseCoopers (PwC).


“The awards, which were given to companies for their sustainable business, are not only encouraging others to follow but also providing lessons of business best practices. The strict and stringent selection process of the Advisory Panel made the awards reliable in Asia, said Tony Gourlay, CEO Global Initiatives, one of the organizers.


SBA, founded in 2012, use a comprehensive framework assessing business action across those categories. This framework has been developed in collaboration with stakeholders as well as leading global experts, and is fully consistent with international best practice.


The awards, unique and important resources for businesses, aim to increase awareness of sustainable business best practices and demonstrate how sustainable business benefits companies, the environment and all stakeholders, today and for the future. While there are plenty of CSR awards around these days, only SBA guides companies through the process – and rewards them along the way to becoming truly sustainable businesses. The SBA methodology combines the best features of bench-marking and awards processes globally to deliver green strategy and business advantage.


Conducted in partnership with PricewaterhouseCoopers (PwC), SBA is designed to meet the specific needs of business in all sectors, designed by global experts and local stakeholders for maximum relevance and credibility; build a global knowledge network of best practice, allowing businesses to benchmark and improve performance; and recognize business realties, helping business improve year on year, with a user-friendly platform that delivers results fast.


The final shortlist of SBA Indonesia 2016 was presented to the SBA National Advisory Panel – the leading sustainability experts in Indonesia: Shinta Kamdani (President of IBCSD and Vice Chair Woman of KADIN Indonesia), Irhoan Tanudireja (Senior Partner, PwC Indonesia), Tony Gourlay (CEO, Global Initiatives), Endy Bayuni (The Editor in Chief, The Jakarta Post), Heru Prasetyo (Institute of Deliverology Indonesia), and Sanjaya Pathirage (President Director, Control Union Indonesia).